American Warrior

by James Snyder

The year is 1961. America has a new president, named John F. Kennedy, and a new era the newspapers are calling The Dawn of Camelot. But for ten-year-old Paul Brett, dealing with an abusive father and immigrant gangs roaming his slum neighborhood of China Slough, America is only a small, dead-end place he is struggling to survive. That is, until the night a stranger comes out of the darkness and initiates a journey–an unforgettable odyssey–beyond his wildest imagination. From the mean streets of childhood, into the deadlier, coming-of-age wars for survival in a careless, unforgiving world, American Warrior follows one young man’s breathtaking and mesmerizing journey into manhood, and hell’s darkest reaches.

Based on a true story, this is the epic tale of a young man’s survival as the world plunged into the darkest days of WW2. Growing up in an isolated village in eastern Hungary between the great wars, Adam couldn’t remember a time he hadn’t yearned for more excitement, more freedom, and often more food. Locked up for theft at age nine, his life took one tumultuous turn after another as Hitler plunged Europe into war. From a 12-year-old runaway searching for food, to a 15-year-old shivering in the mud of a frozen foxhole on the Eastern Front, Adam’s survival hung in the balance. When a Russian bullet found it’s mark, Adam was catapulted into a series of captures and narrow escapes from enemy forces while Europe reeled from the final destruction and horror of WW2. Fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale will enjoy this riveting true story of suspense, courage, and beating the odds.

Get suggestions of books you might like to read!
Start reading now!