Guardian of the Light

by D. Thrush

It begins with a dream that reveals a place of light where Holly meets an ethereal family that may be a memory from a past life. Or is she losing her mind after Jack’s abrupt departure? Grappling with middle age, loneliness, and regret, she sinks deeper into a mire of despair while struggling to control her obsession with Jack. As reality becomes more elusive, a mysterious protector emerges from a place of darkness where he lures her with promises of unlimited power in exchange for a great sacrifice. These parallel worlds of darkness and light threaten her sanity while they compete for her very soul. Holly must make a choice. Will she fight to save the light or succumb to darkness? This powerful story combines fantasy, spirituality, metaphysics, and inspirational fiction in a truly unique way as Holly ponders the meaning of life and the power of her choices. Can she save herself before it’s too late? “…the experience with this book is unexplainable… Wow…”

Memoirs of a False Messiah

by Pamela Becker

What makes a girl grow up to become a cult leader?

A child of tragedy, Mimi struggles to find a home for herself. But sometimes the only way to live in a peaceful community that accepts you and your ideas is to create your own. Rejected by every community she tries to join, MiMi establishes a cult of like-minded women, which just alienates and angers her family, the media and even the government even more.

Her beliefs and lifestyle are drawn from the women characters in the Bible and other ancient texts. Each new interpretation and step in her journey – from suburban USA to the Jewish ultra-orthodox neighborhoods of New York City, to the desert in Israel – leads her to become a hero for so many and a false prophet to her adversaries. As MiMi’s fame and following grow, so do the betrayals.

MiMi is a heroine in the vein of June of The Handmaid’s Tale and Dinah of The Red Tent. Intense and thought-provoking, Memoirs of a False Messiah is the kind of book you can’t put down.

Sale price is not available to readers in all countries.

Get suggestions of books you might like to read!
Start reading now!