Memoirs of a False Messiah

by Pamela Becker

What makes a girl grow up to become a cult leader?

A child of tragedy, Mimi struggles to find a home for herself. But sometimes the only way to live in a peaceful community that accepts you and your ideas is to create your own. Rejected by every community she tries to join, MiMi establishes a cult of like-minded women, which just alienates and angers her family, the media and even the government even more.

Her beliefs and lifestyle are drawn from the women characters in the Bible and other ancient texts. Each new interpretation and step in her journey – from suburban USA to the Jewish ultra-orthodox neighborhoods of New York City, to the desert in Israel – leads her to become a hero for so many and a false prophet to her adversaries. As MiMi’s fame and following grow, so do the betrayals.

MiMi is a heroine in the vein of June of The Handmaid’s Tale and Dinah of The Red Tent. Intense and thought-provoking, Memoirs of a False Messiah is the kind of book you can’t put down.

Sale price is not available to readers in all countries.

Get suggestions of books you might like to read!
Start reading now!